Please provide a valid name
Please provide a valid email
Thank You!
Promoting Music through Cross-cultural Collaboration

Musicus Heritage Community Concert Series - The French Connection: Chinese and Asian Influences on European Music

  • Date & Time
    19 May 2019 (Sun) 4:00pm/6:00pm
  • Venue
    Jao Tsung-I Academy
  • Ticket Price
    Free admission
  • Free Cultural Guided Tour of the Jao Tsung-I Academy
    Cantonese: 11am/2pm/4pm

    Public guided tours of the Jao Tsung-I Academy are available on the day of the concert, advance registration is not required. Interested parties please gather at the Assembly Point at the main entrance of Lower Zone. First-come, first-served.
The upcoming Musicus Heritage Community Concert pays a musical tribute to the late erudite sinologist Prof. Jao Tsung-I, whose versatile scholarship helped to bring a better understanding of China and Asia to the West. With a rich tradition of Asian influences in its art and music, it is perhaps not surprising to find that Prof. Jao was especially admired in France, a country from which he received numerous awards and accolades during his career. With this in mind, this concert uses music to highlight the influence of Chinese and other Asian cultures on European, and especially, French music at the fin-de-siècle - a process undoubtedly continued by Prof. Jao himself.
From chinoiserie to the World Expositions in Paris, the colors and sounds of the East have long fascinated French society, giving fuel to the imagination of French composers of the late nineteenth century. Inspired by traditional percussion ensembles of Java and Bali, Debussy’s String Quartet created a bold and exotic palette for the four homogenous string instruments, resonated later in the Ravel’s momentous work of the same genre. The protean timbre of the string quartet also encouraged other composers to traverse the currents of the East and the West, evoking hypnotic sensuality in Glazunov’s “Orientale” and unbridled vitality in the Dance of the Yao Tribe.
Concert Program
  • Ravel
    String Quartet in F major (1st & 2nd movements)
  • Debussy
    String Quartet in G minor, Op.10 (1st & 2nd movements)
  • Liu & Mao / arr. Jiang Yiwen
    Dance of the Yao Tribe
  • Glazunov
    "Orientale" (from Suite for String Quartet, Op. 35)
  • Duration of each concert is approximately 45 minutes, with no intermission.
Media Gallery
Tickets Information