Interwoven: European Art & Music During Imperial China

Musicus Heritage Community Concert Series

In a unique heritage site featuring some of the most precious works of art presented to Emperor Qianlong, five acclaimed musicians and local rising stars will perform exquisite compositions by Mozart and Tchaikovsky. These works emerged out of a Europe under the influence of the Enlightenment, while Qianlong was leading the Qing Dynasty to its own artistic apex.

One of China’s most influential rulers and a great champion of the arts, Emperor Qianlong’s epic 60-year reign (1736-1795) was considered a golden age of China, especially in the fields of literature, religion, architecture, and fine art.  Meanwhile, Europe’s most prodigious musical genius, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, was delighting European royalty and society with a constant stream of stunningly inventive musical output. Written in 1789, Mozart’s Quintet in A major for Clarinet and Strings, K. 581, is considered the finest example for this instrumental configuration. The quintet is followed by the Andante Cantabile from String Quartet No. 1 by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, a composer associated with another imperial power, Russia.

A heritage tour is available for participants to view the museum’s exhibition Imagining Qianlong: Louis XV’s Chinese Emperor Tapestries and Battle Scene Prints at the Imperial Court in Beijing.


Free admission and free seating. Please register in advance.

Please scroll down for a map of the venue.


Musicus Society is financially supported by the Springboard Grant under the Arts Capacity Development Funding Scheme of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region.

Lead Partner: Credit Suisse

Event Partners: Faculty of Arts and University Museum and Art Gallery of Hong Kong, The University of Hong Kong


Photo Credit:
The Chinese Garden (Le Jardin chinoise or La Toilette chinoise)

Royal Beauvais Manufactory, after François Boucher (1703-1770)
Wool and silk tapestry
360 x 345 cm​



27.5.2017 (Sat)


2:30pm | 4:30pm | 7pm
(3:15pm Heritage Tour)


1/F, University Museum and Art Gallery, Fung Ping Shan Building, HKU
90 Bonham Road, Pokfulam, Hong Kong



Clarinet Quintet in A, K. 581


Andante Cantabile from String Quartet No. 1 in D (second movement), Op.11

Heritage Tour

An approximately 20-minute post-concert Heritage Tour in Cantonese will be held after the first concert.
Time: 3:15pm
Download PDF Order Now

Ticketing Information

  • Due to limited seats available, each registration can reserve up to 2 seats on a first-come, first-served basis.

  • Free Admission & Free Seating. Please register in advance.

  • Ticketing and Program Enquiries: 3974 6601

  • Ticket will be invalid 10 minutes after commencement of the program. The Presenter reserves the right to admit patrons on the waiting list.

  • Duration of the concert is approximately 45 minutes, with no intermission.

  • An approximately 20-minute post-concert Heritage Tour in Cantonese will be held after the first concert. Participants are advised to wear comfortable walking shoes.

House Rules

  • For ages 6 and above.

  • Please arrive at the venue 15 minutes before the concert commence with the printed / digital ticket for registration.

  • Admission time for latecomers are subject to the decision by Musicus Society (hereafter "The Presenter").

  • Unauthorized photography, audio and/or video recording, food and beverages are not permitted in the performance venue.

  • The Presenter shall have the right to use any photos, video and sound recordings taken during the event participated by the Applicants.

  • The Presenter reserves the rights to change any program and substitute artists should unavoidable circumstances make it necessary.

  • Decisions by The Presenter on registration and program details are final. Applicants have no right of appeal.

  • The content of this program does not reflect the views of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region.