Festival Finale : “La Grande Bellezza Italiana”

A celebration of Italian delights by

magnificent soloists and award-winning Italian orchestra


Ask any Italian what gives them pride and pleasure, and music would almost certainly come up as the country has long been an important centre of classical music. From the glorious musical capital of the Renaissance, the Franco Abbiati prize-winning Mantua Chamber Orchestra performs a selection of the finest Italian music with international soloists, led by maestro Umberto Benedetti Michelangeli. Acclaimed cellist and Artistic Director Trey Lee presents Hong Kong’s violin prodigy Hannah Tam, joined by two celebrated singers, Sophie Klussmann and Mauro Borgioni, in their Hong Kong debut.


The program starts with Respighi’s third suite from Ancient Airs and Dances, paying homage to the grace and elegance of Italian Renaissance music. The Italian theme continues with arias from Mozart’s Le nozze di Figaro, Don Giovanni and La clemenza di Tito, as opera originated in Italy. Rossini’s expressive instrumental work Une Larme (A Tear) makes a brilliant showcase for the cellist, while Vivaldi’s Double Concerto in F demonstrates the prolific composer’s virtuoso handling of concerto form. The extravaganza tops off with the rare gem of Boccherini’s Symphony No.4 in D minor, ending the 5th Musicus Fest on a high note.


Lead Partner : Credit Suisse

Airline Partner : Cathay Pacific

Acknowledgement : Leisure and Cultural Service Department

The presenter reserves the right to change the program and substitute artists should unavoidable circumstances make it necessary. The content of this program does not reflect the views of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region.

Concert Details


Nov 26, 2017 (Sun)




Hong Kong City Hall Concert Hall



"Antiche Danze ed Arie per Archi", Suite No. 3


Four Italian arias:
"Vorrei spiegarvi", oh Dio, K. 418
"S’altro che lagrime from La clemenza di Tito", K. 621
"Se vuol ballare, Signor Contino" from "Le nozze di Figaro", K. 492
"Là ci darem la mano" from "Don Giovanni", K. 527


"Une Larme" for Cello Solo and Orchestra


Three Italian arias:
"Un bacio di mano", K. 541
"Madamina, il catalogo è questo" from "Don Giovanni", K. 527
"Bella mia fiamma, addio…Resta, o cara", K. 528


Violin and Cello Concerto in F, RV 544


Symphony in D minor, Op. 12, No. 4, G. 506, "La casa del diavolo"

Duration of the concert is approximately 2 hours and 10 minutes, with a 20-minute intermission.